Thanksgiving: Now, that was… unpleasant.

We had a great, relaxing family day on Thanksgiving. I had the opportunity to work OT at the day job, but I turned it down at the last minute. Sarah and I work opposite shifts and Thanksgiving and Christmas day are pretty much our only shared days off. So, as a family, we ran a three mile race for the second consecutive year. I ran with out oldest son, while Sarah ran with our middle boy (a neighbor watched the baby–no running for him… yet). Aidan and I finished six minutes faster than last year. Owen finished three minutes faster. Everyone had a blast.

We then went home, cooked for three hours, gorged ourselves on the traditional Turkey day cuisine, enjoying a much needed family day.

The unpleasantness happened the following morning. I fell sick with what I now believe to be salmonella. I did most of the handling of the thawing turkey, so I’m assuming that’s how it got me. I won’t go into the details besides mentioning that by Saturday morning, I had lost 9.8 lbs.

I’m now on the mend, still a bit tired, but happy that whole ordeal is over. I hope to get back on a blogging roll starting next week. See you then!

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving: Now, that was… unpleasant.

  1. Man, that SUCKS. Glad to hear you’re doing better, though…

Leave a Reply

