Spectral Inversion, my new poem, podcasted

The publisher of my upcoming story collection, Dog Horn Publishing, just started up a podcast called the Dogcast.  It features spoken word, creative noise, interviews, and much more. My poem, “Spectral Inversion” is in podcast 02 at about the 6:40 mark.  It’s free to listen, so please click through and have a look around!

http://soundcloud.com/dog-horn-publishing/dogcast-02

Yeah, I write poetry, too.  I only recently returned to the form after not producing more than a handful of poems in the last decade.  It’s a welcomed return.  It’s familiar territory, but after so many years away honing my craft with fiction, I feel like I return with a keener ear for the nuance of poetry, and with a stronger sense of imagery.  I’ve still only produced a half-dozen or so new works, but I hope to collect the ever-growing pile at some point in the near future since they all border a common theme.  The title of the volume will be named after the long-form poem I’ll write to wrap it all together.  The title is tentatively: The Scalding Pool. 

Share

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spectral Inversion, my new poem, podcasted

  1. Paul D. Dail says:

    I think I would probably write more poetry if I could hear it read with background music by someone Scottish (he is Scottish, right)? 🙂

    Seriously, though, I liked it. I struggle with poetry, both in the reading and writing, so since I didn’t have the words to try and figure out, I just had to sit back and listen and be taken by the overall effect (which I understand is what many people say causes an appreciation for poetry). I have to admit, though, I’d still like to see the written version. There was some good imagery that I’d like to see a little closer.

    Anyway, god speed on your collection. And hope all else is going well.

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

  2. glenkrisch says:

    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for your kind words. I do believe Dave Migman, who read “Spectral Inversion,” is Scottish. I was going to do the reading myself, but gave up after I couldn’t figure out the audio recording program. Poetry can be difficult for me. I only write it down when it falls fully-formed into my head. It gets to the point that the lines are a constant chatter in my head, then I purge them onto the page. Here’s the text, in case you wanted to see the words:

    Spectral Inversion

    whistling on the rooftop, leaning
    fingertips slicing layers of light
    is it angel’s breath or the whispers of a fool
    you wonder, raising a tumbler to your lips
    another sip casts out all questions
    as the filigree of brilliant wonderment–
    be it flickers on a cave wall or the
    sentient signals sent by distant cousins–
    are broken by the silver liquid rays
    tipped from the tumbler
    by the sudden swaying of the rooftop
    or the earth itself.
    no matter now,
    as the mercurial fire
    touches not one but
    many layers from the spectral prism,
    rumpling gold, showering sparks
    too many colors to count
    bringing the tide of time
    swiftly to focus
    but not on the light itself, but
    the absence thereof
    as all the colors in one, the blackness
    of night itself,
    touches one shade, then another
    snuffs a third under wing
    brings a fourth to heel,
    and onward through the spectrum
    until all distinction is vanquished
    and all that remains
    is one blind night
    one empty tumbler
    and a swaying earth
    unhindered from its axis

Leave a Reply

