Book Launch Week: Brother’s Keeper, a novella

I wanted to have my new title available earlier today, but there was an issue with uploading it.  Well, that’s all resolved and Brother’s Keeper, a novella, is now available! 

US:

http://www.amazon.com/Brothers-Keeper-a-novella-ebook/dp/B0073WV30Y/

UK:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Brothers-Keeper-a-novella-ebook/dp/B0073WV30Y/

I’m very proud of this story.  Writing the rest of the planned trilogy of novels will take up a lot of my writing time during the next year+.  But it’s time to tell this tale.  It’s been brewing in me since 1993.  That’s when, while on a college trip, we entered the town of Alexandria Missouri.  It had just been wiped off the map by the great floods that summer.  Mud streaked the remaining teetering walls of the meager downtown to the second floor windows.  You can read more about the historical context here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flood_of_1993

I’ve toyed with the storyline on and off since then.  The story has grown, evolved into something far greater than a devastating flood.  The events of the story now encompass the entire world and the end of civilization.  I’ve written other stories in the mythos, most notably “Gleaners” which appeared in the South African publication Something Wicked  #9.  “Gleaners” details events during the second novel in the trilogy, a book that takes place five years after the first.  An excerpt of that story, and some cool interior artwork can be found here:

http://www.somethingwicked.co.za/archives/something_wicked_9/gleaners.html

If you’d like to read the entire short story, it will be included in my upcoming short story collection, Through the Eyes of Strays, which will be published by Dog Horn Publishing (U.K.) in the Spring of 2012.

If you want to read a sample of Brother’s Keeper, I’ve posted the first chapter here:

https://glenkrisch.wordpress.com/brothers-keeper/

Can you tell I’m excited about this story!  I hope you take a peek; if you like end-of-the-world stories, this one will stick with you.  If you’ve read any of my work, you know I don’t follow standard cut-out plots with cardboard characters.  Brother’s Keeper is no exception.

 

Share

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Launch Week: Brother’s Keeper, a novella

  1. chris says:

    Hello~I am just starting Brothers Keeper & looking very forward to my adventure!
    You seem like a very nice, humble guy and i wish you much success 🙂

  2. Jeanette says:

    Loved the book and was disappointed when it ended. I am eagerly awaiting thetest of the story

Leave a Reply

