On ebook pricing: analyzing the poll results

Votes are still coming in for the ebook pricing poll I started the other day.  If you haven’t seen it yet, it’s here.  On the surface I see that 13.52% of voters won’t pay more than $2.99 for an ebook novel.  That seems like a high percentage and the figure makes me pause.  But then again, the higher price points garner much higher percentages of votes. 

I could conclude that I should raise my prices to the $5.99, since that was the level at which most people voted.  Doing so eliminates all of those people stuck in the middle ground, the people who won’t pay more than $3.99, let alone $4.99.  Who knows?  I might sell just as many copies at $5.99 as I do at my current price point of $2.99.  But I see those middle ground percentages (the combined 29.74%  of votes), and I pause even longer. 

So, to capture as many readers as possible (and isn’t that the goal of most writers?), I’m going to experiment with the price point for my novels of $3.99.  My 2-in-1 novel omnibus TWICE AS DARK, I will sell for $4.99.

I feel strongly that my work is of a quality that will support the higher prices.  At a quick tally, my average review score on Amazon is 4.63 based on 46 reviews.  Many authors who have done freebie blitzes have complained at the poor reviews these freebies generate.  If anything, my review scores have risen.  Many of the people who have downloaded one of my books have gone on to pay for my other works. 

Also, I like the idea of being able to run short term sales that would otherwise be impossible at everyday bargin-bin prices.

There are so many reasons why the higher price makes sense.  I just hope my readers agree with me.  I’m not done with this topic.  One person mentioned a well-known blogger who recently discussed ebook pricing.  I will address that blog soon, once I get my thoughts in order. 

Thanks to everyone who voted!

Share

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On ebook pricing: analyzing the poll results

  1. David Saffir says:

    hope this isn’t a dumb question. how many respondents total?

    David Saffir

    • glenkrisch says:

      You know, David, I’m not really sure. It was my first poll, and I’m a techie luddite to begin with. Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. It’s bad when a blogger falls off the radar of his own blog. Some big things are going on behind the scenes (editing & writing projects).

Leave a Reply

