Best Reads 2008: Nonfiction

For the second year in a row, my nonfiction reading rated much higher than fiction. I’m wondering if that stems from the titles I choose to read, the overall world of publishing, or most probable, my change as a reader, and especially, my change as a person.

Notable Nonfiction Reads:
“The Long Emergency” by Kunstler
“Lost Mountain” by Eric Reece
“An Eater’s Manifesto” by Michael Pollan
“Crossing the Rubicon” by Michael Ruppert
“The Omnivore’s Dilemma” by Pollan
“Animal, Vegetable, Mineral” by Barbara Kingsolver

In my reading log, I rate books on a 1-10 scale. The above titles all received an 8.5 or higher. Only a couple of the novels I read last year ranked as high.

Have you seen a shift in your reading? Perhaps I only read nonfiction when it really jumps off the bookshelf when I’m browsing. In other words, the work essentially compels me to read it.
My worldview is shifting. I constantly review my use of time, how I place value to time-sinking activities (or rather how I over-value wasteful activities). Fiction is about diversion and escape. Nonfiction is about ideas and concepts, subjects to ruminate on. Learning has intrinsic value, escape and diversion, less so.

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best Reads 2008: Nonfiction

  1. I’d have to say that I still read much more fiction than non-fiction. And the nonfic I read tends to be related to research on my fiction projects. Sometimes I’ll read something nonfic that I’m interested in, simply for the sake of learning more about it without any intention of using it for fiction, but it’s rare.
    Ultimately, though, I just like to read, and although I love fiction, I’m always a big information hound.

Leave a Reply

