Well, this is late. I knew it when I received my 1st rejection of 2008–2007 is over. So what happened in my last year? Some bullets for your consideration:

-Started book reviewing again, this time for Apex Online. http://www.apexdigest.com/apexonline.shtml

-Finished my second novel, “Where Darkness Dwells.” Yes, from the title, it’s horror. Perhaps my last straight horror novel, since I will be moving more in a dark-thriller direction over the next few books.

-Read 32 books, well short of my goal of one per week. The Best: The Terror by Dan Simmons, The Missing by Sarah Langan, The Road by Cormac McCarthy, November Mourns by Tom Piccirrili.

-Having not even run a marathon, I ran my first ultra marathon. 50k (31 miles). I held 1st through 20 miles, then calf issues and hunger did me in. Loved the experience. Training for another, probably in the fall again.

-Went back to school. Got an A in the first course for my Tech Writing certificate.

-Finished 4 short stories, which is high for me since I started novel writing.

-Received 42 rejections total from magazines, book publishers, antho publishers, and a few agents.

-Sold two stories. “Finding Allison” to Pseudopod: http://pseudopod.org/2007/11/30/pseudopod-066-finding-allison/ And saw “Filth Eater” in Cutting Block Press’s Horror Library Vol. 2 http://www.cuttingblock.net/books.html#hl2

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

