Magic

Sometimes writing is slow, sometimes even painful. But if I stick with it long enough, there’s magic. Sometimes the magic happens before I start writing. A bit of dialogue, a physical characteristic, a plot device–something will hit me that needs my attention. So, I sit down to write and the magic flows, or if I can’t work on it straight off, I write the bit on a scrap of paper. Then I carry the bit of magic in my pocket until I can get in front of my computer. Sometimes there is no magic, even sitting in front of the computer, sitting for an hour or more with nothing to show for my effort but senseless drivel I’ll be more than pleased to excise. But, if I continue to push, given time, there’s always magic. And though sometimes writing is slow, sometimes even painful, I carry on. Those electric moments when everything aligns and I exceed what I believe are the limits of my ability (because in those moments, it can’t be anything else but magic, right?), those moments are what I live for. Why I wake up at 4am to put in my time. I’ve realized I can’t wait for the magic moments to happen on their own, because they rarely do. I have to make the magic happen.
How do you tap into your magic?

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

