Injured while writing

So, yesterday I woke up at 4:30, as usual, to start my day at the computer. After gathering up my coffee I made my way to the basement, opened the document I’m working on, when I heard a buzzing noise. At first, I thought the noise was in my head–what with how muddled it is upon waking. Then, I thought the noise came from some kind of service truck outside. Wrong on both counts. I looked up from over the rim of my coffee mug and saw a large, angry wasp searching for a way out of my basement.
I f–king hate wasps. I really do. And at 4:30, my ire is drawn even more immutably on the subject.
I reached for a print out of the chapter I completed the day before, ready to smash the bugger from the sky. Well, the bugger dove for my eyes. I jerked my fisted hand in a warding off motion, jerked the fist right into my nose.
The pain was so excruciating, I nearly cried. When my vision cleared, blood was dripping into my lap, and the f–king wasp was exultant, buzzing about a nearby window in dance of victory.

Once the pain subsided, I felt like the narrator from Fight Club, punching himself bloody. When I imagined that scene, I couldn’t help laughing. When I did, pain shot through my nose, fresh blood trickled down my chin. What a way to start the day.

About glenkrisch

Writer, freelance editor, runner, family man, wanna-be farmer, neo-luddite
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Injured while writing

  1. dys7topia says:

    While not in the least a humorous event, your account of it sure was.
    Sorry about the nose, and thanks for the laugh!
    Kealan

    • glenkrisch says:

      Don’t worry, I’m no longer bleeding…
      And I finished another chapter in my seemingly endless second novel. So, Kealan, any word on a mm deal? Or at least a trade paperback of any of your work?

      • dys7topia says:

        Re: Don’t worry, I’m no longer bleeding…
        Hey, congrats on getting a chapter closer to the end!
        As for me, no news on the trade or mm front, but it’s not for the want of trying. Damn slush piles.
        Kealan

      • glenkrisch says:

        Re: Don’t worry, I’m no longer bleeding…
        Slush is no one’s friend, well, accept for those people who bypass it. It’ll happen.

Leave a Reply

